June 26th, 2017
Confidential 24 Hours
800.637.7999

Choose a Family

CONTACT US

Jex and Mathieu

Fun Facts!

  • Favorite Hobby

    Mathieu: Playing guitar

    Jex: Swimming

  • Favorite Food

    Mathieu: Tacos

    Jex: Chocolate chip cookie

  • Favorite Holiday

    Mathieu: New Year's Day

    Jex: Thanksgiving

  • Favorite Movie

    Mathieu: Casablanca

    Jex: Eternal Sunshine

  • Favorite Animal

    Mathieu: Dog

    Jex: Jaguar

  • Favorite Destination

    Mathieu: The beach

    Jex: The beach

  • Favorite Actor

    Mathieu: Edward Norton

    Jex: Natalie Portman

  • Favorite TV Show

    Mathieu: Planet Earth

    Jex: Parks & Rec

  • Favorite Band/Singer

    Mathieu: The Doors

    Jex: Beyoncé

Hello! We are Jex and Mathieu from Southern California

 

Dear Birthmother: Hello and thank you! 1st, we want you to know that you are a strong, courageous woman, and we admire your selflessness in this decision. We know that it takes a special kind of love to provide this opportunity to another couple and to your child.  We are incredibly grateful that you chose to read this page and consider us as adoptive parents. Our relationship is built on LOVE, TRUST, SUPPORT, and EXPLORATION, and we promise to provide a child with a LOVING, SUPPORTIVE HOME to grow up in. We have been on many adventures together and cannot wait to start the next one as parents! While we are unable to bring a child into this world on our own, we are thrilled that adoption is an option for us.

As children and adults, we have been surrounded by families whose lives have been blessed by adoption. Jex had two friends growing up that were adopted as well as two cousins. One of Mathieu’s closest childhood friends was adopted, and his business partner is the father of three adopted children. We are ready to be parents and share the wonderful life we’ve built together with a child.

About Us: We live in Southern California between the beach and the mountains, which we think is perfect! Six years ago, we each moved to Austin, TX for work, (Jex was from upstate New York, and Mathieu was from Southern California). Well, shortly after moving to Austin, we met each other through an online dating app. For our first date we met at a coffee shop on the lake. It was a gorgeous sunny day, and we had such a good time that we both skipped plans we had made for later in the day with other friends!

We quickly started doing everything together — from hiking and cooking, to traveling the world, and exploring every taco stand and quirky little bookstore along the way. Mathieu proposed to Jex on a mountain in Utah (and even though Jex pretended to not know it was coming, Mathieu was still nervous!).   Throughout our relationship we’ve had the opportunity to travel everywhere, collecting memories, photos, and friendships. Last year, we made the move to Southern California to be closer to Mathieu’s family, and of course, for the weather.

Today we enjoy: Spending time with family, hiking with our dog Iko, watching indie films, trying out new restaurants, exploring new places, trying to perfect our homemade pizza recipe.

 

 

Hi, I’m Jex!

I grew up in upstate New York surrounded by a lot of family, including my parents, an older brother, a little sister, and tons of aunts, uncles and cousins. My dad’s family is Italian and my mom’s part Japanese, so most of my favorite childhood memories include large, noisy meals with delicious food!  I went to Cornell University for college and then to The New School to receive my Masters degree. I now own my own business doing project management for small companies. Owning my business allows me to set my own hours, take vacations when needed, and even work from home almost 100% of the time.  I am incredible excited to share the role of parent with Mathieu. I can’t wait to explore places that I loved going to as a child, with a child of my own: art museums, the beach, science centers, hiking, tidepools, and musical shows. I am also excited to share all of my favorite books with my future child and plan to read with them each night, as my parents did with me.

 

Jex Through Mathieu’s Eyes: Jex is my favorite person in the world (I’m smiling while I write this). She’s the most thoughtful person I have ever met.  Food. Oh my… what an an amazing cook. Imagine the healthiest food in the world also tasting like the best food in the world. As a child, she got to learn Japanese cooking from one grandmother. From her other grandmother, she learned to make Italian pastas. And from her mother,  she learned how to bake like a pro. Jex pulls cooking inspiration from all over the world and makes a happy home full of good food and love.  Jex can always figure out how things work (a scientist at heart). She built our dining room table from scratch with her own two hands, can fix anything with a sewing needle and thread, loves finding the answers to problems, and always makes the complicated feel simple and achievable.

 

 

Hi,  I’m Mathieu!

I grew up in southern California in a very loving home filled with cooking, singing, learning, and debating. My mom was raised by immigrant parents from Europe, so I grew up with a lot of Mediterranean cooking.  While Jex was reading books and running around outdoors on the other side of the country, I could be found either backpacking in the mountains with my Boy Scout troop, being a camp counselor for kids (some of my favorite memories include leading sports, storytelling, and song sessions), playing baseball and soccer, or studying.  I went to college at UCLA, where I studied history and English, and worked at the school newspaper. Today, I own my own business and work from home, helping other businesses with their marketing and technology.

I always knew I wanted to be a father  just like mine was – always around, serious but playful, full of good advice but letting me make my own decisions, and helping me get a good education. I’m so grateful that I’m in a position to do just that, and raise a child with Jex, while just down the road from my parents, who are two of the smartest and loving people I know.  Mathieu through Jex’s eyes: Mathieu is an incredible partner. From the day we met, he has been my biggest supporter and fan. He is kind, patient, honest, and so much fun to be around. I love his curiosity about life and everything around him.

One of my favorite things about Mathieu is that he is unshakeable. He remains calm in stressful situations and always has a creative way to move forward. Kids love Mathieu because he has one of those award-winning smiles that you just can’t help smiling back. It’s fun to see him get on the same level with a kid and be very silly.  I also love that Mathieu cares about health and fitness. He will always say ‘yes’ to any activity, and will often be the best at whatever it is, even if it’s his first time trying it. A couple of years ago, he started a ritual where he gets up before me and prepares a cup of coffee for both of us so I am greeted with a fresh cup every morning! I often hear him singing to our dog in the morning while he’s getting ready for the day. It’s all of these small, thoughtful acts that he does for our little family that makes me confident he’s going to take care of us and always start our day off with a smile.

 

 

Our Family & Friends

We both come from big families who love to spend time together! Each year, Mathieu’s family goes on a trip somewhere special for a week during the holidays. Last year we went to Turks & Caicos and before that, Jamaica and the Galápagos Islands.  Mathieu’s parents Elinor and Steve live nearby and are probably more excited about being grandparents than anything they’ve ever done. Elinor works with children with special needs — some people call her a baby whisperer and children always light up when she’s in the room. Mathieu also has a close aunt and uncle who have also claimed first dibs on babysitting. We are surrounded by family that is excited about our future and have always been incredibly supportive of our relationship.  Mathieu’s little brother, Oren, recently moved back to Southern California and Jex’s little sister, Kate, moved to Southern California last year. We see them frequently to go to the beach, go to a movie or out to eat, or just hang out and explore our city. Mathieu and Oren’s favorite night out is getting Korean BBQ with their cousins and going out to sing karaoke!

 

We are both fortunate to be close to Mathieu’s grandmother, Hana, who also lives nearby (we actually live in the neighborhood she and Mathieu’s grandfather first lived when they moved to the U.S. back in the ‘60s!). We take her to the movies, out to eat, to yoga or a walk on the boardwalk as often as we are able. Jex is also very close with her Japanese grandmother and spent a lot of time at her grandparents’ house growing up, learning how to cook and do origami.  Jex’s parents live in New York and are also excited to become grandparents. They travel to the West Coast when they are able to, and Jex and Mathieu spend big holidays in New York with her extended family each year. Jex is close with both of her siblings and really valued having a big brother to look out for her growing up.

 

 

Our Home and Closing Thoughts

 

Our Home and Community: We live in a quiet community in Southern California. Our house is just a few doors from a beautiful canyon with hiking trails that we and most of our neighbors use every day, rain or shine. There are always kids bicycling, neighbors playing with their dogs, and mothers doing group stroller walks on our street. We have a 3-bedroom house with a big, sunny backyard and deck. The view from our front windows has mountains and palm trees in it (Jex’s dream come true!). Our neighborhood is safe and diverse, with highly rated schools nearby. When we moved in last year, our next-door neighbor brought us a freshly baked cake before the movers had even left!

 

Meet Our Pup, Iko: We have a 6-year-old goofy dog named Iko, who Jex rescued from a shelter in New York before she and Mathieu met. Now he and Mathieu are bffs, too, and love to go on adventures together, lounge around in the backyard or at the beach. He’s loved going on many road trips with us and his two favorite things are chicken and his tiny pink polka dotted stuffed giraffe named Spot. He’s very happy around kids and especially loves licking them!

 

Thank You: Thank you for taking the time to read our story, where we came from, and our big dreams for our future family. We would honor the opportunity to meet you and provide a loving home for your child.