August 18th, 2017
Confidential 24 Hours
800.637.7999

Choose a Family

CONTACT US

Paula and Jeremy

Fun Facts

  • Favorite Hobby

    P: Reading

    J: Golf

  • Favorite Movie

    P: The Shawshank Redemption

    J: Top Gun

  • Favorite Actor:

    P: Morgan Freeman

    J: Harrison Ford

  • Favorite Food

    P: Pasta

    J: Pizza

  • Favorite Animal

    P: Elephant

    J: Cheetah

  • Favorite TV Show

    P: Law and Order SVU

    J: Chicago Fire

  • Favorite Holiday

    P: Thanksgiving

    J: Christmas

  • Vacation Spot

    P: Cabo

    J: Cabo

  • Favorite Singer/Band

    P: TIm McGraw

    J: Train

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to read our story. Our names are Paula and Jeremy and we live in Sacramento, California.  We cannot begin to understand how you feel right now, but we realize how difficult considering adoption must be and we are humbled to be considered as parents for your child.

Four years ago, Paula became actively involved in the raising of Jeremy’s two children from a previous marriage. We knew that we wanted to grow our family and raise a child together.   Our journey to do so has led us to adoption and ultimately, to you.

If selected, we will treat your child as an amazing gift that was given to us through your honorable and selfless choice. Together, with our community of wonderful family and friends, we will welcome your child with open arms and shower them with love and affection. r-photo 2a Our Story:

We met through mutual friends at a charity event. They weren’t trying to set us up, it just happened naturally.  Although we had never met, we had lived in the same neighborhood for several years, just 5 blocks from each other!

After that evening, we started dating and knew quickly that we were meant to be together. We were engaged a year later while on a mini-vacation in San Diego where Jeremy proposed to Paula with her grandmother’s diamond ring, which he had cleaned up and sized for her.  About six months later, we were married on the beach in Monterey in front of 20 close friends and family members.

Together, we make a great team. We share essential core values, which include honesty and respect.  We believe that this is what makes our marriage work.  We truly balance each other out… Paula makes spontaneous decisions and leads with her heart while Jeremy likes to think things through and look at the facts.

About Paula, by Jeremy

In a word, Paula is amazing! She always seems to know what to do, how to advise, how to calm, how to encourage, and most importantly how to love.  Paula is an amazing wife and an intuitive partner.  Paula is smart, independent, confident, loving, and beautiful inside and out.  Paula has a passion for helping others and expresses this through her charitable work and contributions.

When we first started dating, I was recently divorced and sharing custody of my two beautiful children, who were then 6 and 8. Although the kids weren’t technically her children, Paula came into our family with love, energy and the best motherly instincts, making it work from the very beginning.  As a stepmom, she treats my kids with love and respect and always has their best interests in mind.  Paula is the rock of our family.  I can’t wait to see her with a baby to cherish.  She will be an incredible mother and I can’t wait to share this life-changing experience with her.

Paula’s Career:

Paula is an Interior Designer and works for a large architectural firm. She has been there for over 16 years, working her way up to an ownership position.   She has the opportunity to work on many different project types from law offices and restaurants to Courthouses and State Prisons.   Paula is not only inspired by her clients, but also the newest colors and patterns, innovative products and workplace trends.  Paula’s friends, family and neighbors benefit from her passion for design by asking her advice on house paint colors and their small remodel or redecorating projects.

A few of Paula’s favorite things…

  • Travelling – I’ve always been interested in different cultures and ways of life. I’ve experienced China, Thailand, Greece, India, Mexico and my favorite, Spain (on our honeymoon!) I also enjoy family vacations… relaxing on the beach and playing in the waves
  • Reading – I love a good book. Reading relaxes me, teaches me and opens up my mind to new places and adventures.
  • Running – something I love to hate. I have run several half-marathons over the past 3 years. The training makes me grumpy, but crossing the finish line with my running buddies makes me feel a sense of accomplishment
  • Watching Top Chef and Project Runway – I watch in awe as talented contestants make something great out of nothing.

r-photo 11 About Jeremy, by Paula

When I met Jeremy, I knew right away that I had met the person that I had been waiting for. Jeremy is a friendly, sincere, honest and intelligent person who prides himself on his integrity.  He is a kind and supportive husband and ALWAYS treats me with respect and does everything he can to make me happy.  Even with all these great things going for him, it was watching Jeremy with his kids that sealed the deal for me.  As a single dad, he could get homework done, make dinner, take showers and have the kids in bed by bedtime… just to start all over again in the morning!  Not only is he a capable father, but he is a kind and loving husband who puts his family above everything.  I cannot imagine sharing my life-long dream of raising a child with anyone else!

Jeremy’s Career

Jeremy is a registered Civil Engineer and works for the State of California’s Department of Water Resources and has been there for 15 years. Jeremy is passionate about being a public servant, because the work he does focuses on making people safer, protecting property from devastating floods and creating a healthier environment for people to live in.  The bonus of being an engineer is that he was able to stamp and sign the permit drawings when we added on to our own house!

A few of Jeremy’s favorite things…

  • Golf – I enjoy the personal challenge of trying to beat my previous score.
  • Snow skiing – I grew up in the snow and it reminds me of my childhood in many ways. I also love the adrenaline rush I get when I’m flying down the mountain.
  • Watching TV – Especially the Golf Channel. When the rest of the family is in bed, I wind down by watching my favorite shows.
  • Ice cream – Anyone who knows me well, knows that I NEED a bowl of Dreyers Slow Churned Peanut Butter Cup ice cream with a healthy dose of chocolate syrup every night before bed.

r-photo 13 About Josh and Julia:

Jeremy’s children live with us half of the time. Julia is 13 and just started her first year of junior high.  It’s been an exciting and challenging time for her.  She tried out and made her school volleyball team, but her passion is basketball.  Julia is a smart and determined girl and we watch her nurturing instincts kick in most when she is around young children.  We know she will be a caring and protective big sister to your child.  Josh is 11 and is in the 5th grade.  He shares a passion for golf with Jeremy and his “paw paw”, and he also enjoys playing baseball.  Josh is a witty and kindhearted boy and his selfless acts are a true testament to his character.  Both kids are excited about all the things they can teach to a new sibling.

Meet Wink:

Wink is a Golden Retriever/Lab mix who is spunky, sweet and gentle.   He makes us laugh and keeps us on our toes.  We enjoy taking him to the river to swim and watching him play with other dogs.  We are certain that he will welcome a little one into our family with open paws! r-wish lanterns Our Family:

While we have successful careers, our main focus is maintaining a good work-life balance. Both of our positions offer flexible work schedules so that we can attend the kids’ sporting events, carpool to lessons and practices and always get home in time to help with homework and have dinner together as a family.

Jeremy grew up with an older brother in a military family. With a father in the Navy, he moved every three to four years to a new place and a new school.  He has fond memories of snorkeling in Guam, ice skating on frozen frog ponds in Maine, and building bike and skateboard ramps in Alaska before settling in California where he finished high school.  Summers were spent visiting the family farm in Pennsylvania where his extended family still lives.

Paula grew up in Northern California with an older brother surrounded by aunts, uncles and many cousins. She attended private school through 8th grade before transferring to the public high school where both of her parents taught.  With both parents being teachers, her family was able to spend the entire summer together traveling, tent camping and boating.

Jeremy’s parents have been together 46 years and Paula’s 44. Both sets of parents are truly the rock to their families.  Our parents have supported our decisions, both good and bad, and have always been there for us when we needed them.  We can’t wait to pass on the love and strength that our parents gave us to a child of our own.  We are grateful to have our parents and extended family close by and they are very involved in our lives.  We enjoy family holiday celebrations, birthdays, kids sporting events, getting together at the Lake house, vacationing together, or just having a backyard barbeque.

Our home:

We live in a 4 bedroom home in an older, established neighborhood in Sacramento. With one road in and one road out, our neighborhood is considered one of the safest in the City.  It is a quiet and kid-friendly neighborhood that prides itself on its tight-knit community values.  There are many family oriented activities within our neighborhood that include 4th of July Parades, movies in the park, a summer park concert series and a holiday light contests.  We are just blocks away from the river and a bike/walking trail that extends over 26 miles.

Although neither of us grew up in the area, Sacramento has been home to both of us for over 20 years. Having separately established ourselves in our neighborhood (Paula for 14 years and Jeremy for 8 years), we have no plans to ever leave the area.  Sacramento is centrally located with access to the ocean, the mountains, wine country, San Francisco, and Lake Tahoe. There is never a shortfall of fun things to do and wonderful places to see!

One of our shared passions is making our home beautiful. Together, we’ve added a large family room suitable for family game nights, watching movies and fun playdates with the neighborhood kids.  Recently, we added a master bedroom and bathroom as well as a 4th bedroom that will become a nursery.  Paula designed the spaces while Jeremy did the engineering for both additions.  Together, we spent an entire summer with our tool belts on making our dreams into a reality. r-back cover 3 Our Promise to you:

We want you to know that your child will be raised in a loving, nurturing home filled with laughter and we will do our best to pass on good moral beliefs and values. They will learn about the importance of family, friends and education.  Love is our promise to your child.  This we will show by providing a peaceful and safe environment of love and affection; tucking in your child at night and reading bedtime stories; giving hugs and kisses and songs and rhymes to learn.  We will play games, travel, have fun days at the lake and spend many nights at home together as a family.   We will support your child’s interests and passions, be it sports, music, dancing, singing, or helping other people.  Above all, they will be encouraged to be who they are, develop into a smart, strong, good person, and enjoy life.

If you have any questions for us or are interested in us adopting your child, please contact your AdoptHelp case worker by calling 1-800-637-7999 toll free.

Sincerely, Paula and Jeremy