June 18th, 2019
Confidential 24 Hours

Choose a Family


Franck and Valerio

Hello from Franck and Valerio! 

Thank you so much for taking the time to read through our profile! We realize you’re making an important decision and we’re really happy that you’re considering us!  We’ve been together since our college days and are really looking forward to starting a family and becoming fathers. We have known we want to be parents for a very long time. We have been mentally ready for several years, but we’ve also waited for our circumstances to be right and, after moving to California and buying our first home a year ago, we feel we finally have a perfect environment to welcome a new baby into our family.

About Valerio

I was born in Rome, Italy, where I grew up as the younger of 2 brothers. When I finished high school I moved to London, England, to go to college. I met and fell in love with Franck and we ended up calling London home for many years until California stole our hearts.  I work as a designer for Google, I make apps and websites intuitive and fun for people to use. My work schedule is flexible. After the baby is born, I will be able to take paternity leave for 3 months.  I feel lucky to do something creative in my work, and it’s that same creativity that I hope to foster in our future child. I think it is important for children to experience different ways to develop their brain and discover what they like and where their potential lies.  Growing up, I learned to play the piano and the guitar. I feel that music has had a huge importance in my life and I can’t wait for my future child to be old enough to try singing and playing instruments with me.

More about Valerio, by Franck:

Valerio will be an incredible dad. He is kind, gentle and patient. I picture him teaching our future child how to play the piano and the guitar, and help him or her with homework. Valerio is someone with strong principles who always tries to do the right thing and see the best in people. He will not only transmit his musical and creative gift, he will also teach him or her to respect others and be kind.

About Franck

I grew up in France. My family relocated several times because of my dad’s job. I have wonderful memories of family hikes, learning about plants, animals, and being curious about the world. My parents also transmitted the love of books, which is something I hope to pass to our future child.  With over twenty cousins on my mother’s side, you could say I have a large family. This is something I greatly value and I dream of having a large family of my own— including many animals! I always had a special connection to animals, growing up with cats, rabbits, and guinea pigs as a child.  I work 3 days a week as program director at a research center at the University of California, Berkeley. My work is very flexible. My co-workers are like family (two have already volunteered to babysit!). They’re very supportive of our plan to adopt.  By training, I am an anthropologist, which involves learning about other cultures. I spent two years in Asia (China and Mongolia) as part of my studies. This interest in the world (and languages) is something I share with Valerio. We can’t wait for our child to travel and discover the world with us!

More about Franck, by Valerio:

Franck is made of pure kindness. He is gentle and loving, full of wonderment and curiosity about the world, which is what has driven him to his research and his studies. I’m sure he will instill that same curiosity and thirst for knowledge in our future baby’s life.

Our Family and Friends

Our families live in Europe in Italy, France & England. We visit them regularly and now that we have a house with an in-law unit, they are able to stay with us whenever they visit. They already CAN’T WAIT to meet the next addition to our family!  Christmas is the time we normally spend in Italy with Valerio’s family, which includes our future child’s future cousins: Tommaso and Martina. At 11 and 13 they’re a few years older than he or she will be, and they keep asking us for updates on when their cousin is finally coming!

The matriarch of our family is Valerio’s grandma, Erminia. We recently flew to Italy to celebrate her 100th birthday. She has always been very supportive of us (she was the first person Valerio came out to in his family) and was very excited to hear we had chosen to adopt. She can’t wait to meet her new great-grandchild!


Our Home and Closing Thoughts

The beautiful Redwood National Forest is only a few minutes from our doorstep, and we love to hike there with Max. Montclair has great schools, and many young families live in the neighborhood. A little cul-de-sac across from our home is often closed to traffic and used as a children’s play area in the evening.  When we were looking for a house last year, we immediately fell in love with our home. We moved to the Bay Area dreaming of redwood trees and now we can’t believe we have THREE in our very own backyard. Hummingbirds, deer and squirrels pay the occasional visit. It’s a magical place that has the feel of a vacation home.  We feel it’s a fantastic environment for a child to grow up. The house came with its own slide and swing set and now we’re planning to add a little treehouse.

Thank You!

We thank you from the bottom of our heart for taking the time to get to know us. We understand you have an important decision ahead of you and we hope that you will find a family that you feel happy to trust with raising the child that you are bringing into this world.