August 23rd, 2019
Confidential 24 Hours
800.637.7999

Choose a Family

CONTACT US

Alina and Ciara

Things That Make Us Happy!

Ciara
  • 1. Watching our child grow
  • 2. A clean house
  • 3. Going to the mountains
  • 4. Reading
  • 5. Netflix and Chill
Alina
  • 1. Spending time with my family
  • 2. Travel
  • 3. Hanging out with friends
  • 4. Karate
  • 5. Listening to music

Hello! We are Alina, Ciara and Xander

Dear Birth Mother: It is an honor to have you read our profile and consider us as adoptive parents to your child. We reside in Virginia – about an hour from our nation’s capital.  Adoption was part of our dialog even before we were married. We have a biological son, Xander, and long to give him siblings. Our attempts to have another child have been fruitless. Nevertheless, WE FIRMLY BELIEVE LOVE MAKES A FAMILY. We even consider our dog part of the family! We look forward to sharing this journey with you!

About Us: We complement each other and share similar backgrounds.  We met in college in the Spring semester of 1997. During that time, we worked in the same building and studied in the same school. In college, Ciara was always secretly interested in Alina. It was not until a few years after college that we “came out” to each other over email. We reconnected again and started dating in 2006. We were married in 2013 in a Maryland courthouse with just the two of us. We are very practical but it was very special to us.

Fun Facts:

  • Alina loves to travel
  • Ciara is not so fond of travel, but goes anyway and has a great time
  • We love to shop at Costco as a family
  • Alina is a food snob – food has to be nutritious and/or taste really, really good for her to eat it
  • Ciara loves food. If it is in front of her, she’ll eat it
  • Ciara loves Colonial Williamsburg. Alina tags along
  • We love NYC. We go there as a family about once a year
  • We believe education is very important
  • We believe in paying respect to our elders, even if they have passed on

 

 

Meet Alina

I was born and raised in the country of Laos in Southeast Asia. I am the youngest of three. When I was 10 years old my father died. My Mom then fled the country with my two siblings and me. We were refugees for a year before being accepted by the States. Through hard work and study, I went to college and graduated as a Computer Engineer. I now work from home as a Patent Examiner. Working from home gives me the flexibility to weave my love for martial arts, travel and being a parent. I AM FLUENT IN LAO AND THAI. I know some French, Spanish, Mandarin and Japanese. I like to travel and experience different cultures. I try to learn the local language of the countries I visit so I am not completely clueless.

More About Alina, by Ciara: ALINA IS THE MOST SELFLESS PERSON I KNOW.  She does not spend a dime on frivolous things. She has always put family first – even ahead of herself.  Like me, she strives for our children to do better than we did and to learn what we could not. She does not take life too seriously. She makes me laugh. She can cook (thank goodness). Our son adores her. She is supportive and ever patient. Marrying her is the best decision I ever made.

Fun Facts:

  • I have been to 35 countries and 5 continents
  • I am a Black belt in Karate and hope to open up my own dojo and teach kids
  • I only eat 72% cacao chocolate
  • I love the Bee Gees
  • I am a ‘night owl’
  • I am outgoing
  • I am afraid of worms

 

 

Meet Ciara

I was born and raised in Panama in Central America. I am an only child.  There were no opportunities in Panama for my Mom or me. So, when I was 5 years old my Mom made the painful decision to come alone to the States as a green card holder to work and send money back to Panama. I was raised by my Grandmother. About 5 years later, my Mom sent for me. She taught me the value of hard work and most importantly, education. Mom later met a man and they married. He became my stepfather and formally adopted me. We became a family. I went to college and graduate school. I hold degrees in Computer Science and Information Systems Technology. I now work as a Navy Civilian as a Computer Scientist. My job is flexible when it comes to family matters. I AM FLUENT IN SPANISH. I love to read. I am part of two book clubs and read other books on my own. I like mysteries/thrillers. I love music and like to think I can sing. I take my role as a mother very seriously. I believe that my job is to prepare my children to live in this world and be independent.

More About Ciara by Alina: She is very smart. Smarter than me. She gets all my jokes – even the bad ones. We grew up with similar backgrounds. Our mothers immigrated to this country and fought to give their children a better chance. We were raised on similar values. She is the stricter parent, but that is better for our son in the long run. She stood by me through all life’s ups and downs. She supports and encourages me to pursue my passions. I am very fortunate to have picked her as my life partner.

Fun Facts:

  • I was adopted by my stepfather as a teenager
  • I never changed a diaper until I had Xander. I’ve had a lot of practice since!
  • I used to be a model
  • I am a ‘morning person’
  • It took me 10 years to learn how to use chopsticks
  • I like to dance when I think no one is watching
  • I am an introvert
  • I used to play the viola

 

 

Our Family and Friends

Meet Xander: Xander is our 5-year-old son. He is a sensitive boy who likes Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, music and painting as well as Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). Xander loves to travel (like Alina). He is taking phonics, STEM, music, jujitsu and swim classes. We hope to add piano and Chinese class to his extracurricular activities. HE IS LOOKING FORWARD TO HAVING A LITTLE BROTHER OR SISTER.

We have pretty large extended families. Alina has hundreds of cousins all over the world. Ciara has a couple of cousins who also live in VA who we try to visit as frequently as possible. When we travel, we try to visit family as well. We want our children to feel that they belong to a larger community than just their immediate family and that everyone has their well-being at heart.

Outside our families we have assembled a tribe to help us care for our son. It consists of our next-door neighbor, Lauren (who is like a third mom to our son) and the teachers at his school – Mae, Lindsay, Wendy (among so many others). We consider them all friends. We do not have parents to help us out, but we make sure we surround ourselves with people who share our values. OUR COMMUNITY IS SUPPORTIVE AND EXCITED TO WELCOME ANOTHER MEMBER INTO THE FOLD.

 

 

Our Home and Closing Thoughts

Our Home and Community: We live in a large, sought-after neighborhood in Fredericksburg, Virginia. IT IS FAMILY-FRIENDLY WITH LOTS OF AMENITIES INCLUDING A CLUBHOUSE, GYM, SWIMMING POOL, PLAYGROUNDS, TENNIS COURTS AND WALKING TRAILS. We have a large deck where we like to hang out and entertain our guests. Alina takes Xander to our neighborhood swimming pool. There is a splash pad where Alina takes Xander on his scooter. We prefer to cook instead of eating out but there are many good restaurants in our town. We live less than two hours from the beach, mountains, museums, and historic sites and we visit these places as often as possible.

Meet Hunter: It’s a funny story how Hunter came to be part of our family. Ciara adopted him without meeting him while Alina was on a business trip – and didn’t tell Alina! When Alina returned, they had a puppy! Hunter and his siblings were found in a box on the side of a road. A ‘last chance’ shelter rescued them, and Ciara felt the need to adopt him. He is a Jack Russell/Beagle mix. He fits in very well in our family and is the gentlest dog. He is also smart and loves to eat and nap all day.

Our Thanks: THANK YOU for taking the time to read and walk down memory lane with us. It is an honor that you would consider us as adoptive parents for your baby. We believe love makes a family. We respect your decision to do what is best for you and your baby. We promise your child will be well-traveled, will speak more than one language, will be multi-cultured and will be a well-rounded educated individual. We promise a stable and secure environment. OUR UNCONDITIONAL LOVE FOR HIM OR HER IS A GIVEN.

We wish you peace and tranquility.