February 24th, 2019
Confidential 24 Hours

Choose a Family



Fun Facts!

  • Favorite Hobby:

    Carmen: Photography

  • Favorite Movie:

    Carmen: Top Gun

  • Favorite Actor:

    Carmen: Matthew McConaughey

  • Favorite Food:

    Carmen: Carne Asada Tacos

  • Favorite Holiday:

    Carmen: Christmas

  • Favorite Animal:

    Carmen: Horse

  • Favorite Vacation:

    Carmen: The Beach

  • Favorite Singer:

    Carmen: Taylor Swift

  • Favorite TV Show:

    Carmen: Madame Secretary

Hello! I’m Carmen from Washington State!

Dear Birthmother: Thank you so much for taking the time to read a little about me. What an amazing and courageous person you are for making the choice to place your baby for adoption, what a blessing you are! I made my career as a corporate security manager the priority for a very long time, and even though I haven’t met that special someone, it has been a lifelong dream for me to become a mother.  I am a licensed foster parent and have cared for many children in my home, what a blessing they have been to me! They’ve taught me so much about what being a family really means and that families are made from love and commitment, and not much else. I’m very excited and ready to be a forever mom and I’m humbled that you would take the time to read more about me.

A Little About Me: I’ve lived on the same property most of my life in Olympia, Washington. Olympia is the capital of Washington State and while we host the state government function, it’s still a relatively small community ideal for raising children and providing a good quality of life. As a kid, my parents’ home was surrounded by family homes. Most days I would leave my house in the morning and return in time for dinner, making my rounds to all the relative homes. I went to the same school for eight years where I met many of my lifelong friends and established a solid Christian foundation. I was raised in a Christian home and currently attend a local non-denominational church. I have a passion for music, and have just about every genre in my music library. I played the clarinet for many years and wish I would have continued my piano lessons!  I grew up playing sports, I think I spent more time in the emergency room with broken bones than most of the boys in my school. My dad taught me about football as a kid and I grew up watching games with him; it continues to be a significant tradition in our homes.

My Favorites:

  • TV Show: Madame Secretary
  • Movie: Top Gun
  • Room at Home: Kitchen & Backyard patio
  • Food: Mexican / South American
  • Sports: Football….Go Seahawks!!
  • Hobby: Photography
  • Color: Blue & Green
  • Pets: Labrador Retrievers
  • Outdoor Activities: Camping, Horseback Riding, Golf, Being at the beach!
  • Travel Destinations: Europe, Caribbean, Central America



Meet Carmen

My Home and Community: My home is located on the original property my great grandparents homesteaded in the early 1900’s. Through renovations I’ve successfully transformed it from my grandparents’ home to my own, reflecting my style and personality. My parents live next to me, and an aunt of mine lives on the other side of my house. I live on a county road, about 10 minutes outside of town where I can quietly enjoy relaxing on the backyard patio. My house is comfortable and designed with kids and pets in mind. I have resident deer, rabbits, squirrels, and birds that use the yard.  I live about an hour from Seattle, Washington so even though I live in a smaller community, I am close to all the things a large city provides such as the theater, sporting events, zoos, and tourist activities. I enjoy spending time on the waterfront in Seattle, the Pike’s Place Market, baseball and football games, and riding a Washington State Ferry; one of our best features!

My Job: I am very passionate about my job! I work for an aircraft manufacturing company so I get to spend a bit of time playing with airplanes. I create special event security plans for our executives when they conduct meetings and other activities at hotels and other offsite locations. I get to work with local and police departments and occasionally some government agencies like the United States Secret Service.  I have also planned events including famous musicians and celebrities. While my job does require travel, my company travel policy is very generous, allowing me to bring my family along. My job provides the flexibility of working from home which allows for less childcare and more time at home with my future child. I’ve made my career the priority in my life and I am well established and able to be a full-time parent while maintaining my career. One of the things I love the most about my job is the flexibility it provides me to manage my time the best for both work and home.

Things I Will Teach Your Child:

  • To live life passionately
  • To be themselves
  • To share and make new friends
  • That’s its okay to make mistakes, and how to learn from them
  • To love our community, and the people in it
  • How to enjoy an afternoon at the playground
  • To love and accept others, and themselves



Meet My Family

My Family and Friends: My parents will celebrate their 45th wedding anniversary this year. For as much as I want to be a forever mom, my parents will be amazing grandparents and have looked forward to it for a very long time. My parents established in me a set of core values that I stand by, how to be a responsible person with a good work ethic, and to appreciate what I had. As an only child I missed out on the sibling rivalry skills, but I do have many lifelong friends that I equate to being my siblings. My cousins and I are very close and we spend a lot of time together as well. My dad is the youngest of seven, my mom has six sisters so I have a very large extended family that mostly all live in Washington. I take my parents with me a lot when I travel so your child would be building memories with their grandparents while traveling here and abroad.

Quote from Jen,  Carmen’s Friend “Carmen has become an incredible friend and ‘aunt’ to our children and has invested so much in them.  She is loving, caring, protective, and eager to spend time doing things that they love to do”.

Quote from Tara L, Carmen’s Friend “Carmen would be an amazing mother! She has so much love to give and the ability to give a child a loving, stable, and safe home.  She is kind, supportive and caring. Carmen would protect, love and support a child no matter what!

Quote from Ms. Diane – Daycare Teacher “Carmen is selfless when it comes to taking care of the children in her care.  She caters their activities to what they enjoy and provides development opportunities as well”.

My Traditions and Holidays: My favorite holiday is Christmas! I love the decorations, the change of season to cold weather (and hopefully snow). It’s a time of renewal and the time of year where we focus on those we love. My parent’s and I often travel to a little German town in the Cascade Mountains where they do Christmas tree lightings and decorate the entire town. There is a sledding hill for kids, hot chocolate, a live Nativity, and Christmas shopping to be done.  Celebrating birthdays is really important! I think it’s important to celebrate the day that people were brought into the world, the achievements that they’ve had, and share how they’ve impacted or enhanced your life.  I love the 4th of July; fireworks are magical to me and I look forward to sharing them with your child. Growing up my parents would throw a huge party every year for our friends and family and then do a huge fireworks display. As that tradition has transformed into taking in community festivals for the 4th of July, I still very much enjoy the day and celebrating our country’s birthday.  Thanksgiving is a family day for me and my parents. I spend the day at their house, my mom makes a huge feast while my dad and I enjoy three football games! It’s a day of reflecting on and showing appreciation for our blessings.



My Hobbies

My Travels: I love to travel! I have made it through a few places on my list but still have many more places to visit. I enjoy going to the beach a lot so my trips to the Caribbean have been among my favorites; the Dominican Republic was very nice and maybe someday I will have a place there. Nantucket, Massachusetts was such a cute and quaint little island that I could go there just about every summer! I was able to take my parents to Ireland, England, Scotland, and France for their retirement a few years ago; it was a great experience and I have many more places in Europe that I want to see such as Italy, Germany, and Switzerland. Other places on my list to visit are Fiji, Bora Bora, Australia, and New Zealand. I look forward to sharing many wonderful memories with your child as we are able to travel the world learning about other cultures and experiencing other traditions around the world.

A Few Fun Facts: I spent many years taking photos for work, now I enjoy taking photos of my vacations, nature, and my family. I have developed a new fascination with kayaking and paddle boarding. I love starting off summer weekends at the Farmer’s Market and marina playground. I really enjoy taking kids to our local community festivals and fairs. I have developed a fondness for doing home improvement projects  and gardening



Closing Thoughts

Thank you! Thank you so much for taking the time to read through my profile. I hope I painted a picture of a loving woman who very much wants to be your child’s forever parent. I will encourage your child in the same way that my parents did with me, teaching him/her to do their best, appreciate what they have, and how to be a caring and compassionate human being. While we don’t know what the future holds, I promise that I will unconditionally love your child every day of my life. Please know that your child will always know how much you love them, that you are a very brave and courageous women who chose to be part of our extended family. Having you choose me to be your child’s adoptive parent would be the greatest honor of my life!

My Promise To You:

  • To love your child to the moon and back always!
  • Your child will be accepted for who they are
  • Your child will be raised in a loving, stable, and safe home
  • Your child will make amazing memories with their grandparents and extended family
  • I will inspire your child to dream big
  • That we’ll go on summer vacation together and travel the world