October 22nd, 2018
Confidential 24 Hours

Choose a Family


Carrie and Kris

Things that Make Us Happy

  • 1. My Family
  • 2. Hanging out with my nieces
  • 3. Cats
  • 4. My friend Greg
  • 5. Coaching Hockey
  • 1. Morning Coffee
  • 2. The beach
  • 3. Hosting family dinners
  • 4. Cooking
  • 5. Traveling and planning trips

Dear Birthmother,

We are Kris and Carrie from Alaska!  We want to thank you for taking a few minutes to get to know us.  While we cannot begin to imagine what a difficult decision this must be for you, we want you to know that you are giving us the wonderful possibility of having our dreams come true.  We hope this quick peek at us will show you the fun, adventurous and love filled life that we are looking forward to sharing with a child.



We met about 13 years ago on the first day of Pharmacy School, in Boston, and have pretty much been inseparable ever since. Our relationship is built on respect, trust, love and lots of laughter.  We are a team.  GO TEAM!  After graduation we chose to move to Colorado.  We didn’t know a soul and it was a great adventure.  It was there that we became a family when we rescued our 2 kittens Mitch and Mabel; yes we are very proudly cat people.  Looking back, I see how those 2 short years truly strengthened our relationship.

While we loved the camping, hiking, skiing and city life of Denver, something was missing; our little niece KK.  She was only 2 back then and we wanted to be around to watch her grow up.  So, we moved to Alaska, where Kris grew up and all his family still lives.  Shortly after we made the move, KK was joined by twin sisters, our nieces Camryn and Kari.  They are all so excited about the possibility of growing up with a new cousin.

Our Home:

Answers to a few of the most common questions about Alaska… No, it’s not dark ALL the time in the winter, the sun DOES set for a few hours in the summer, we DON’T ride on a dogsled to get around and we DON’T live in an igloo.

We live in Anchorage, just a short 10 minute drive away from the home Kris grew up in.  Our neighborhood is a quiet family community with easy access to schools, parks and biking/walking/skiing trails.  Anchorage is a wonderful place to live, work and play.  Most importantly it’s where our family is and it’s our home.

Our Jobs:

We both work in two separate Anchorage hospitals as pharmacists.  We are part of a team with doctors, nurses and therapists to ensure that each patient gets the best possible care.  We enjoy a flexible schedule that gives us tons of time to travel, relax and enjoy time with our family and friends.



I grew up in central Massachusetts where 90 percent of my family still lives.  I don’t have much of a Boston accent, but a few “r-less” words slip our every now and then.  My favorite place to visit back home is Cape Cod! I spent just about every summer on those beaches as a kid.  I still LOVE the beach, but from Alaska, the volcanic sand beaches of Hawaii are much closer and I get there every chance I can.  Growing up, I always knew I wanted to be a mother.  Truthfully, that’s why I chose the career I chose, I knew it was flexible enough for me to spend a lot of time at home with my future children.  I look forward to watching a child grow and learn.  Children have such amazing little brains, the absorb everything around them.  I can’t wait to show a child the world and view it from their eyes.

Favorite things:

  • Traveling/planning trips (Spain, Greece, Germany, India and the Maldives are on the list)
  • Exercising- ok, so it’s only my favorite once I get into it. Sometimes it takes me a while to get there, but it is a big part of my life.
  • Quite mornings at home with coffee and my little family.
  • Cooking, especially Italian food after our recent trip to Italy.

Things I love about Kris

  • Kris is amazingly selfless and thoughtful. Everything he does is to make his family and friends happy.  Kris is happiest when the people around him are happy.
  • Kris has an unbelievably quick wit and makes me laugh all the time
  • Kris charms everyone he meets. Everyone loves Kris!



I was born and raised here in Anchorage and spent my younger years taking advantage of all this state had to offer. I started playing hockey at around 3 years old and continued to play through high school and then into college on the East coast. My parents were very supportive as I was growing up and they never pressured me to do anything that I didn’t want to do but instead, they allowed me to pursue passions that I felt were worthwhile and helped grow me as a person. I also grew up fishing, camping, hiking, and snowmobiling with my dad. I played baseball and soccer as a kid and spent most of my time outdoors with my sister doing the usual stuff kids do. I enjoy the life that we have built up here. Our friends are great and our jobs are flexible and full of people that I enjoy seeing every day. Now, I spend my time coaching youth hockey (which I REALLY enjoy), hanging out with Carrie and our cats doing Alaska activities and bothering my family members as much as possible (they love it)! I am by far the most fun person in our family and just like Carrie said, “Everybody DOES Love Kris!”

Favorite things:

  • Playing and coaching hockey
  • Camping with our family and friends down at the river in the summertime
  • Relaxing in the mornings with Carrie and our cats
  • Making other people happy by volunteering whenever I can and giving to local animal / homeless shelters and soup kitchens
  • Exercising and being outdoors
  • I have always enjoyed cooking and it is great that Carrie shares this same passion. We cook together whenever possible (it definitely helps with getting dishes done)!

Things I love about Carrie:

  • When she has her mind set on something, she creates a direction and a path on how to accomplish that goal. When she sets her sights on something it is best to step aside and watch the magic happen!
  • She is all business, all the time…..until she isn’t. Then you get to see Fun Carrie! She is playful, she laughs loud until almost crying and just takes in the moment that is happening, as if tomorrow was never going to exist.
  • She enjoys having family around her and always tries to make things better for others.
  • She is kind to animals and loves our cats despite being allergic.

Worthington Glacier

Our Kitties:

We brought Mitch and Mabel home from the Denver Dumb Friends League when they were 8 weeks old.  They’re now almost 10 year-old, black and white beauties with such sweet personalities.  Mitch loves to give hugs and chase a squishy ball around the house.  Mabel is a little more reserved until she wants her belly rubbed. She’ll let you know she’s around with her quiet meow.

Our Family:

We are very close-knit here in Alaska.  We are lucky enough to have blood relatives here (Kris’ family), but one of the greatest things about our community in Alaska is that family is not always just the traditional definition of the word.  We have amazing friends here that are just as much family as our own relatives.  We see Kris’ parents, sister and nieces several times a week.  Whether it’s to watch a hockey practice, a quick mid-day lunch or a loud family dinner, we always enjoy each other’s company.

Family traditions:

  • Christmas Eve Champagne and shrimp (sparkling cider for the littles) after Church.
  • Annual Russian River fishing/camping trip
  • Celebrating Birthday Week- we deserve more than just one day, don’t we?

Back Cover