December 12th, 2018
Confidential 24 Hours
800.637.7999

Choose a Family

CONTACT US

Dana and Brian

Things That Make Us Happy

Dana:
  • 1. Going to the beach
  • 2. Reading a good book
  • 3. Spending time with family
  • 4. Chocolate
  • 5. Cooking dinner with Brian
Brian:
  • 1. Cooking a good meal
  • 2. Traveling to new places
  • 3. Watching standup comedy
  • 4. Spending time with pets
  • 5. Hiking in the mountains

Hello, Hola and Ciao!

We would like to begin by expressing our admiration for the strength it takes to consider adoption for your baby.  We are honored to be considered as a potential family for your child.  Thank you for the opportunity to introduce our family to you.

Why We’re Adopting:

Since Dana was a little girl she always wanted to adopt a child in addition to giving birth.  Due to fertility issues we were unable to conceive.  We believe that adoption is a beautiful way to grow our family and we feel the time is right to pursue adoption.  We consider parenthood an honor and a loving journey to raise a child to be a caring, thoughtful and independent individual.

About us

We met on Match.com and fell in love in New York City where we are originally from.  Our relationship evolved and let us to take a chance and relocate together to San Francisco.  Once in San Francisco, Brian proposed to Dana in a forest on one knee surrounded by two secret photographers to capture the special moment!  We were married in an intimate ceremony later that year surrounded by close family and friends.  We both enjoy travel and adventure and are happiest on the road or in a place ready to explore somewhere new.  We think travel is important to learn about cultures, people and to gather new experiences.

A few fun facts about us as a couple:

  • On our honeymoon in Thailand we got matching tattoos and Brian tried Durian (stinky fruit!) for the first time.
  • A dream of ours is to open a café one day where Dana will bake and Brian will run the business.
  • We are huge Yankee fans and even named our dog after Derek Jeter!

About Dana

Brian says: Dana is so sweet, loving and thoughtful.  I’m the luckiest guy in the world that she is my wife and I get to raise a family with her.  She values family and bakes sweet treats to bring people together.  Dana has maintained friendships from decades past and makes new friends wherever she goes.  Dana is going to be a fantastic mother and this is evident by how she interacts with our young niece and nephew, they are just drawn to Aunt D!

Dana’s Career:  I have worked in the healthcare industry in a variety of administrative and leadership roles.  I currently work as a Director of Physician Relations (Human Resources) for a large healthcare organization.  I love my job and I learn something every day.  My job allows for flexibility to work from home several days a week.

3 Things about me (from Dana)

  • I have two younger sisters and I’m the only one with blue eyes and curly hair.
  • I volunteer for an organization where you make birthday cakes for kids in foster care.
  • I love going to concerts, some of my favorites have been U2, Bon Jovi and Lady Gaga.

About Brian

Dana says: Brian enjoys making people laugh and has an engaging personality.  He is the most responsible person I know and works hard in his career and with his family.  Whether it’s telling a silly joke or cooking my favorite meal, he always knows how to brighten my day.  Brian’s love for travel and adventure is infectious and has definitely inspired me to want to explore the world. He is great with our niece and nephew and loves to play with his godson.  He is kind and patient and is going to be an amazing father.

Brian’s Career:  I work as a Business Manager in the Heart Center for a Children’s Hospital.  It’s rewarding to assist hospital senior leadership to offer affordable and quality healthcare in the Bay Area.  I work from home most days and my job has a lot of flexibility which will allow me to attend ballgames, dance recitals and parent-teacher conferences.

3 Things about me (from Brian)

  • I have traveled to 26 countries; a few favorites are Italy, Japan, Mexico and Peru.
  • I will always have a Brooklyn accent, no matter where I call home.
  • I’m learning Spanish and Italian and want to raise a child in a multi-lingual environment.

Our Families

Dana:  I grew up in New Jersey, have two younger sisters and 1 niece and 1 nephew.  My parents have been married for 45 years and their relationship inspires me every day.  My entire extended family gets together a few times a year and my favorite is Hannumas, a made-up holiday to embrace interfaith marriage in our family by celebrating the traditions of Hanukkah and Christmas.  It’s loud, fun and full of lots of laughter and food.  Everyone can’t wait to welcome the newest member of the family!

Brian:  I grew up in Brooklyn, NY the oldest of two boys.  My mother and father were both educators and my family is warm, loud and loving.  I have extended family on both the east and west coast and enjoy family gatherings.  One of my fondest memories that I hope to instill in my family is Sunday dinner with the entire family, where we laugh, tell stories and enjoy delicious homemade food.  My grandmother was a huge influence in my life and my love of cooking shows started with her and Julia Child!

Top 3 family traditions

  • Walking around New York City at Christmas time (it’s magical)!
  • Putting together Christmas stockings and opening them on Christmas Eve.
  • Making Easter baskets and eating chocolate!

 

Pets

We have two pets that enrich our household, one cat named Leo (Meatball) and a dog named Jeter (Monkey).  Both Leo and Jeter are super loveable and friendly and can’t wait to be best friends with our future child.  They are especially looking forward to eating all the food dropped when he or she is learning how to eat on their own.

Favorite Things

  • Leo loves to eat goldfish crackers and prefers chocolate ice cream
  • Jeter loves running on the beach, playing fetch and peanut butter

Our home

We live a few minutes from downtown Redwood City, CA located in the San Francisco Bay Area.  Our city has many restaurants, an amazing library, movie theater playground and parks.  During the summer months they show movies in front of city hall (Princess Bride and Sandlot are favorites) as well as have outdoor concerts.  These are great events for the entire family and ones we plan to share with your child.  Inside our home you will find lots of books and we have even started a collection of children’s books like we look forward to reading to your child.  We look forward to making homemade playdoh at the kitchen counter and baking delicious treats for our family.  We relax after a busy day on our patio tending to our garden, telling stories about our day and grilling dinner.  One of the things we can’t wait to do is decorate your child’s room and make it a space that is fun, comfortable and nurturing.

Our Promise

  • We are committed to providing your child with a stable home, unconditional love around a diverse group of family and friends.
  • We are committed to providing your child with the best educational opportunities available.
  • We are passionate about supporting your child as they learn about themselves, their passions and becoming a strong member of the community.
  • We are committed to helping them develop a strong moral compass, instilling a sense of service and helping them develop the desire to make the world a better place.

 

Final Thoughts

Thank you for taking the time to get to know us.  We are honored that you are considering us as an adoptive family.  We have so much love to give a child and hope to make a connection with you.  We consider parenthood an honor and a loving journey to raise a child to be a caring, thoughtful and independent individual.  It means the world to have the opportunity to raise a child together.