June 18th, 2019
Confidential 24 Hours

Choose a Family


Hiral and Karishma



Welcome to a glimpse into our life! We are so excited that you are taking the time to view our profile.  We are inspired by your selflessness in choosing the path of adoption because it gives us so much hope.   To us, you are a hero…hopefully the hero of our story.  We honestly believe that there is a time and place for everything, and that fate is what brings us all together.   We have been blessed in life with so many amazing people, opportunities, and experiences and have SO much love to give.  We hope that you  get a good feel for what we are all about in the next few pages and that you think we are at least a tiny bit as awesome as you are!

According to Hiral, Karishma is…

“The perfect girl for me.  She is loving, compassionate, and strong.  When she does something, she does it wholeheartedly, because she wants to, not to get recognition.  She has the ability to bring people together, and a talent to make people laugh with her feisty, yet quirky sense of humor.  I think it’s cute that she is extremely emotional and tears up every time she is at a wedding, or talks about one of her patients who isn’t doing so well, or when she reads or sees anything baby-related that she thinks is so adorable…like now.  She’s definitely going to be our kids’ ally.”


According to Karishma, Hiral is…

“My hero and my best friend! He is the only person who knows EVERYTHING about me.  He has the most non-judgmental and giving heart of any person I know and is always willing to help people.  To add to that, he almost always has a smile on his face.  He makes me a better person because he makes me feel secure, beautiful, confident, and most importantly, LOVED.  He is really great at connecting with and engaging people, especially children, and I know he will be an awesome father, friend, and the lead disciplinarian to our children.  My favorite thing about him is when he gets a rush of love and affection for me, and it happens often!”

Our biggest inspirations in life:






Things we love to do together:  Eat, work out, dance, cook, clean (we know, it’s strange!), creative projects (themed parties, renovating, DIY projects), concerts, and whatever it takes to make each other laugh!


More About Karishma

I was born in Fiji and raised in Southern California, which is where I’ve lived most of my life.  I grew up in a crazy, crowded, loud, but VERY loving household with both of my parents, paternal grandparents, two sisters, and a brother.  Family is everything to me.   Having two siblings that are significantly younger is the reason I fell in love with the idea of being a mom, and now that we are all grown up, I like to think that they keep me youthful.

I attended University of the Pacific in Northern California and graduated with a doctor of pharmacy degree.  To be honest, I was never a fan of school since I was very young, but I understood how important education was as I got older.  I was so fortunate to be accepted into an accelerated program out of high school and push through graduate school, because I now have a job that I absolutely LOVE.   I work as a pharmacist for a non-profit organization that provides HIV/AIDS care.  The work I do is fulfilling, and the people I work with are truly amazing.  Some of my coworkers are even looking forward to babysitting!

I love to laugh and make people laugh, even if it’s at my own expense.  I am outspoken to a fault, but always mean well and have only the best intentions.  I trust people easily and am extremely trustworthy.  I try to give back and help those in need, because I feel that I have everything I need, and what is missing will come in due time.

A few of my favorite things:

Laughing out loud.  Seriously, I can’t do it enough.  Sometimes I think it is my purpose in life to laugh and make people laugh.


Nail art

Dressing up

Being crafty (I am always determined to be original)

Little Miss Sunshine


My guilty pleasures:

Dancing to Bollywood music and Kona Pie from Islands


More About Hiral

I was born in Tanzania and moved to Los Angeles when I was seven-years-old.  I am an only child, and Karishma loves to point out that I LOVE it.  I grew up in a household with both of my parents, my paternal grandparents, and my uncle’s family of four.   I grew up seeing my parents work extremely hard to give me everything I could ever ask for.  I attended University of California at Riverside for undergrad and then obtained a Master of Arts in Counseling Psychology from Argosy University.  My plan was to continue my education and pursue a doctorate degree, but I had to take over managing the family business due to unforeseen circumstances.  It felt like a sacrifice initially, but I have been able to make a lot of improvements and continue to do so.   The best perk of essentially being my own boss is that I make my own schedule and work in the heart of Hollywood.  One of us will always be home with our baby since I will be able to work around Karishma’s schedule, if she decides to continue to work full-time.

I am known to be a man of few words.  I’m the type of guy that takes life as it comes.   I try not to stress out about the small things.  I don’t judge but try to see the best in people and situations.

A few of my favorite things:

Playing basketball, football, and golf

Camping and fishing

Planning and building objects/spaces


Action-packed movies (pretty much all of them)

My guilty pleasure:

Oreo cookies with milk

Our Story

We met in Los Angeles when we were both 15-years-old during the Hindu festival of Navratri.  We kept in touch (thanks to AOL Instant Messenger and text messaging!) and became best friends after chatting nearly every day.  We spent a lot of time together during one Winter break from college, and we both realized that the vibe we both felt was definitely more than friendship.  Four years later, we celebrated our love with a huge Indian wedding surrounded by our family and friends.

Our life has panned out much differently than we had pictured.  While we thought we would start by traveling the world and enjoying our time together as newlyweds, our priorities quickly shifted.  Our first priority was to find a home where we could settle down with Hiral’s parents, because his dad was suffering from end-stage kidney disease.   We have recently been through a lot of grief after losing Hiral’s dad unexpectedly and both of our grandfathers within the span of a few months.  The process of going through all of this has made us closer, stronger, and more aware that together, we can go far.   Nothing would bring us more happiness and light up our lives than a baby.

We have always loved and wanted children, and have been talking about adoption since we were dating, regardless of having biological children.  Karishma has a genetic condition that causes infertility, however we decided against seeking medical treatment to conceive.  We feel that becoming parents is a gift and a privilege, and that it should be a natural process.   It would be an honor to be chosen to be parents through the miracle of adoption.

Our Home and Neighborhood

We are the proud owners of a mid-Century modern home which we extensively renovated to create an open space.  There are areas that we kept simple in anticipation of the design being inspired by our children.  Since we have not had the opportunity to travel internationally together, we are looking forward to traveling with our child and seeing the world through his/her eyes.  It would be neat to embellish our home with the small treasures we find during our travels!

We live in a charming, tree-lined neighborhood in Sherman Oaks, CA in an excellent school district.  Our neighbors are extremely friendly and we all look out for each other.  We are surrounded by families with young children and look forward to play dates!  There are so many attractions and activities within miles of us including beaches, museums, parks, hiking trails, farmer’s markets, and sports venues.

How We Were Raised…

We both grew up in traditional Indian households, learning about and practicing Hinduism.  We remain spiritual and love our rich culture.  Our parents are still very present in our lives (Hiral’s mom lives with us!), and they are looking forward to enhancing our baby’s life with blessings, culture, wisdom, love, and so much more.

The most valuable life lessons we learned from our upbringing and share with each other:


The importance of education

Always help people in need, if you are able

Always respect yourself

To embrace my heritage

Strong work ethic


Never lose faith

Don’t lie

Don’t cheat

Don’t cause harm

Accept that you have flaws and work to improve them




How we wish to raise our child:

We will make sure to provide everything our child needs to grow and thrive, but will teach her/him how to distinguish between “needs” and “wants”.   We will encourage her/him to:

Be adventurous

Be passionate

Be social

Explore creativity

Know the difference between being selfish and selfless

Always ask questions

Not depend on technology

Apply the concept of moderation (except for when it comes to love and laughter!)

Thank you again for taking the time to learn about us.   We can’t imagine how difficult of a decision this is for you to make, and we want you to know that we would be honored if you choose us.  We promise to provide EVERYTHING your child could ever need.   We wish you peace, good health, success, and so much more on your journey and look forward to hearing from you!

If you would like to speak with us about adopting your child or have any questions for us, please contact your case worker at AdoptHelp by calling 1-800-637-7999.