April 20th, 2018
Confidential 24 Hours
800.637.7999

Choose a Family

CONTACT US

Katie and Sharon

FUN FACTS!

  • Favorite Hobby:

    Katie: Reading

    Sharon: Video Games

  • Favorite Movie:

    Katie: Good Will Hunting

    Sharon: Pitch Perfect

  • Favorite Actor

    Katie: Matt Damon

    Sharon: Tom Hanks

  • Favorite Food:

    Katie: Mashed Potatoes

    Sharon: Mac & Cheese

  • Favorite Animal:

    Katie: Horse

    Sharon: Dog

  • Favorite TV Show:

    Katie: This Is Us

    Sharon: Friends

  • Favorite Holiday:

    Katie: Christmas

    Sharon: Christmas

  • Favorite Vacation:

    Katie: Mexico

    Sharon: Lake of the Ozarks

  • Favorite Band/Singer:

    Katie: Old Crow Medicine Show

    Sharon: Justin Timberlake

Hello! We are Katie and Sharon from Missouri!

Dear Birthmother: We are awed by your love, courage and selflessness. We are humbled and honored that you would consider us to be adoptive parents. We also recognize, respect and cherish that this is a journey for all of us to take together.  Thank you for taking the time to review our profile. We hope to show you the love that we have for each other and the kind of loving, laughing and learning home that we hope to provide for your child.

Our Story: We first met through a mutual friend 11 years ago and started dating a year later. We haven’t been apart since! We have been together for 10 years, and were legally married in February of 2016.  We’re both very active, having grown up playing multiple sports, and coached a softball team for the first 6 years of our relationship. 3 years ago we moved to a suburb about 15 minutes from downtown St. Louis. It’s perfect for us since we love going to St. Louis Cardinals baseball games, listening to live music and going to plays.  We love to travel, and have taken trips all over the United States, Mexico and Europe. Our favorite city to travel to is San Francisco. We really enjoy experiencing other places and exploring the world together.  We started talking about family and children early in our relationship, we both knew we wanted to have multiple children and that we wanted to adopt. While we have struggled with infertility for the past few years, the path for us to have children has been a gift in many ways and has deepened our belief that there is a plan for us and our future family.

Things We Love To Do:

  • We love spending time with our families and have lots of traditions such as the Annual Apple Pie Baking with Sharon’s Family – last year we made 65 pies in one day!
  • Hosting our nieces and nephews for the local 4th of July parade and carnival
  • Travel and exploring other cities and cultures is an important part of our lives.
  • We normally take one big trip a year. Recently we went to Ireland and loved it!
  • Outdoor activities, golf, running, softball and cycling
  • Attending Sporting Events – We are die hard St. Louis Cardinals baseball fans and go to many games each year.
  • We are lucky to live close to many venues and enjoy attending concerts, plays and shows. Katie’s favorite band is Old Crow Medicine Show, and we have traveled all over to hear them play!

 

 

Meet Sharon

Introducing Sharon, by Sharon: I grew up in a small town in Northwest Missouri where everyone knew everyone else. Growing up in a small town taught me to be hard working and honest, mostly because mom and dad would find out anyway! I grew up playing softball and my dream was to play in college, and I’m proud to say I was able to do so for Webster University. My softball days are over, so now I enjoy playing golf, which my grandfather taught to me at a young age.  My aunts, uncles and grandparents all lived in other cities, but we would always get together for the holidays. As a result, I got to travel a lot. We would always eat at local restaurants when travelling so we could try new foods. This led to my love of food and explains why I like to try new recipes and foods.  A few years ago I developed an interest in rehabbing homes and we have been fortunate to be able to buy a house that is a bit of a fixer upper. My dream job would be to rehab houses in our community – and I am planning to start this business sometime within the next year or two.

My Career: I work for a Furnace and Air Conditioning company as a Master Scheduler. I make sure that things get made on time and are available for customers when they order them. My work is extremely flexible, and offers extended time off and support for families going through the adoption process.  I plan to take full maternity leave for the first three months, and then we will both adjust our schedules to work from home to care for the baby throughout the week – with support from both sets of grandparents.

More About Sharon, by Katie: What attracted me to Sharon was her kind and generous spirit and her zest for life. She is able to live in the moment and enjoy life better than anyone I know. She is great with children, and at every family gathering is one of the kids (at heart). She can usually be found playing video games with our nephew, or having princess tea with our nieces. I am excited to be parents with Sharon – your child will be in great hands because she is going to be such a fantastic mother!

 

 

Meet Katie

Introducing Katie, by Katie: First and foremost, family is the most important aspect of my life. I am closely connected with my parents and siblings- and we spend a lot of our free time together. I consider myself very lucky to have not only their support, but a family that embraces Sharon and me fully. I am driven, and a somewhat of a rule breaker. By being a rule breaker, I just mean that I’ve been the “first” at a lot of things in my life. I was the first girl to play boys baseball in St. Louis, one of the only female leaders at my company, and just generally work for what I want to achieve – regardless of the standard rules.  I love music, sports, and spending time with our friends. Right now I’m training for a marathon – which has been a wonderful challenge. Overall, I like to approach all things in life with a positive attitude – and have as much fun as possible while learning new things.

My Career: I am an executive at a manufacturing company, and have worked for the same company since I was in college. I completed my MBA, while working full time and have also completed executive education courses at Harvard Business School. My goal is to one day be the CEO of a company.

More About Katie by Sharon: The thing that I love most about Katie is her heart. I joke that her heart is bigger than her head, because she would give everything to make sure that everyone she loves is taken care of. She loves animals and sometimes I think it’s a miracle that we only have 4 pets. She is committed to everything that she does, and is a very hard worker.  After finishing her college softball career at Saint Louis University, she started coaching a softball team in an effort to give back to the game that had given her so much. To this day, she refers to every kid she coached as “her kids”. I know because of the kindness that she shows everyone that she will be an amazing mom and I can’t wait to start a family with her.

 

 

This Is Our Village

 

Katie’s Family:  Katie’s family all live pretty close and we see them regularly. Her parents still live in the same house where Katie grew up. She talks to them every day and we see them about once a week! All three of her siblings, Jon, Pat and Beth and their families – live within 20 minutes and they are all very close. We normally see everyone for kids sporting or school events, someone’s birthday or just a good old fashioned family get together.

Sharon’s Family: Sharon’s family is a little more spread out, but close nonetheless. Her brother Kyle, and his family live in Athens, GA, and she has another brother, Clayton, in Phoenix, AZ. Two years ago her parents retired, and moved closer to us and extended family. They love to entertain and frequently host family gatherings. We also always make it a point to try to see everyone a few times a year and if we can’t be together there’s always Facetime!

Our Furry Family: We are animal lovers, and have 3 dogs and 1 cat. Our cat, named Kitten-Cat, is the oldest of the four- and behaves more like a dog than a cat! The dogs are named Scout, Finch and Boo after Katie’s favorite book “To Kill a Mockingbird.” All of our pets love kids and will welcome a baby into our home.

 

 

Our Home and Closing Thoughts

Home Sweet Home: We bought our house with the intention that it would be our “forever home” and that we would raise our family there. It’s located in a suburb of St. Louis called Webster Groves, which is a historic neighborhood. Our house was built in 1885 with a cozy wrap-around front porch with lots of comfortable chairs and a hammock. Because of the age of the house, there’s always a project to be done and we love working on it together.  Our neighborhood is known to be a fantastic place to raise a family. Since it is an old neighborhood, there are big trees, sidewalks, and you always see people outside, which is one of the many reasons we love it there! There are also many community events and festivals that we enjoy.  We live one block from the historic downtown area, where all of the shops and storefronts have been maintained to appear just as they would have a long time ago. We especially like walking to the Frozen Yogurt place. There are also 3 parks and a library within walking distance. We can’t wait to be able to raise our future child in this amazing neighborhood!

In Closing: Thank you for taking the time to learn more about us and for considering us as adoptive parents for your child. We admire your courage and conviction to want the best future for your baby. Words can’t express how excited we are to start our family. This is a lifelong dream for both of us and we feel very privileged that you have taken the time to learn more about us. We look forward to learning more about you.