August 23rd, 2019
Confidential 24 Hours

Choose a Family


Liesbeth and Henk-Jan

Hello! We are Henk-Jan and Liesbeth from The Netherlands!

Dear Birth Mother: Thank you for taking the time to get to know us by reading our profile. We want you to know how much respect we have for you and your courageous decision that will be life changing for all of us, in so many ways. We have been married for eight years, and have discussed our shared dream of building a family together since the first day we met. It was difficult for us to get pregnant and when it happened our son passed away when Liesbeth was 35 weeks pregnant. We were and are ready to love and raise a child, we have so much love to give. Thank you for giving us the hope that our dream will come true. We know it is a blessing and an honor to become parents and we will never take this for granted, your child will always feel loved and wanted. We have chosen to adopt from the United States because in our country, The Netherlands, adoption is very difficult. We also like the idea of staying in contact with you, if it’s something that you’re comfortable with. You would be an extension of our family!

Getting To Know Us

We met through mutual friends and were close friends for years. We both did not realize that our friendship had turned into something more until Henk-Jan had to serve in Afghanistan for six months. As soon as he left we both felt that there was so much more than just friendship between us. We stayed in touch as much as we could while he was there and when he came back we started a new chapter in our lives, together as a couple and we have never left each others side ever since. We are very close with our families; we go on holidays together, have family-weekends and see each other on birthdays and anniversaries. We dream of the day we will be able to share this loving environment with a child. He or she will be loved so deeply by so many people.

Our Work: Liesbeth works as a Planner at an office 5 minutes from our home. Henk-Jan has served our country for almost 15 years. He will transfer jobs so he won’t be assigned internationally anymore. At the moment we are both working fulltime, when we become parents we will cut down our working hours. We have 4 grandparents who can’t wait to spend time with their grandchild.

We Love To Travel: One of the passions we share is travelling, we have seen so much of the world already and we can’t wait to show our future child all these beautiful places.

  • Rome, Italy
  • New York, USA
  • Tuscany, Italy
  • Punta Cana, Republic Dominican
  • Paris, France
  • Vienna, Austria
  • Barcelona, Spain
  • The Alpes, France
  • Bandung, Indonesia
  • Crans Montana, Swiss

Meet Henk-Jan

Written by Henk-Jan: I grew up in a loving family of four, with my parents, younger brother and myself. I have great memories of our holidays, sailing with our boat and spending time together. I have always felt loved by my parents and I know that this is one of the most important factors in raising a child. I am a very creative person. I love to make things out of wood or work on our house and property. I have always been a hard worker, I don’t mind getting up early to get things done. I have been serving in the army since I was 19 years old and I have recently been rewarded with a medal for 12.5 years of service. With the arrival of our future child in mind I have decided to change positions so I won’t have to serve abroad anymore and can spend more time with our family.

More About Henk-Jan Written by Liesbeth: Henk-Jan is the most caring person I have ever met. He takes care of me with so much love. He knows it when I need a cuddle without saying a word. He works very hard to create the perfect house for our family and I can’t express enough how grateful I am for the stable home he has given me. Henk-Jan is always full of ideas and is already telling me about all the great things he has in mind for the future with our child. Henk-Jan has a great sense of humor (even though he himself laughs the hardest when he makes a joke), I know he will be able to teach our future child a lot of things in a fun, understanding way. I am thankful to have him as my husband and I know he will be a great role model to your child.

A Few Favorites:

  • Sport Running
  • Food Couscous made by Liesbeth
  • Music Johnny Cash, Beatles, Andre Hazes (Dutch singer)
  • Favorite country to visit Italy
  • Favorite time of the year Summer

Meet Liesbeth

Written by Liesbeth: I am the youngest of a family of five. Besides my parents, I have a brother and a sister. I had a warm upbringing; we did a lot of fun stuff together and I am grateful for the chances my parents gave me, also the freedom and space to follow my dreams and to explore who I am. Beside travelling I love to cook, I like trying new recipes so I usually spend a part of our Saturday in the kitchen. Ever since I was little I have loved animals, I will always try my best to help animals in need. You can imagine that I was very happy when we moved to our farm and had enough space to have some animals of our own.

More About Liesbeth, written By Henk-Jan: Ever since we met I have always found Liesbeth special and I have always admired her ability to see the needs of others. She is the one who will notice somebody feeling alone or be the person who brings a sick bird from the side of the road to the animal shelter. I see a great mother in her and I am so proud to be her husband. When she talks about the adoption of our child her face lights up and I can almost hear her mother heart beating. Liesbeth is smart, kind to everybody and very caring and I know for sure that she will always put the needs of our child above all other things.

A Few Favorites:

  • Food Indonesian
  • Animal Dog
  • Country to visit France
  • Music John Mayer, Michael Bubble, Johnny Cash
  • Color Green

Our Loving Families

Our Family and Friends: We are blessed with great families on both sides. Liesbeth’s entire family live about a 30-minute drive from our home. Liesbeth’s brother and sister-in-law have 2 small children, and we love spending time with them! We are a very close family, always have been and still are. We go on holidays and family weekends together and it is safe to say we see each other every other week for a cup of coffee or a bite to eat. Henk-Jan’s parents also live in closeby and Henk-Jan’s brother Frank lives around a 15-minute drive from our house. We have bought a boat together with Henk-Jan’s parents and love to go sailing together when the weather is nice. We also see Henk-Jan’s parents around every other week. We don’t see Henk-Jan’s brother Frank very much right now, he is 22 years old and just started living on his own so he is celebrating that fact almost every weekend at the moment.

Dutch Traditions: In the Netherlands we celebrate “Sinterklaas” every year on December 5th. The night before children sing a song by the chimney before they go to bed in hopes for a visit from Sinterklass and his “friends” and will run to their shoes the next morning to see what present they have gotten. We have done this when we were little and we can’t wait to have our little one also continue with this Dutch tradition.

Our Faith: We were raised Christian and we want to share our faith and beliefs with our future child but there will always be room for his or her own opinion and choices about religion. We also want to honor your child’s cultural or religious heritage along with ours!Our Home and Closing Thoughts

Our Home: We live in Vinkenbuurt, which really is nothing more than 2 streets with a lot of farms and greenery. We come together in our community center to play games like bingo or something and in the summer we have “the summer games”, we all go outside and play games. We have a church and schools nearby and the shops are about 5-minute drive from our house. We don’t really need to go to the park because we kind of have our own park around our house! This is the place our child can play on the swings, pet the goats or collect eggs from the chickens, we are 100% sure that this is a great environment to grow up in!

We Love Animals: We have a number of animals on our farmette including goats, chickens and a very, very large dog. We love our Great Dane, Fons. Don’t let his size scare you, he is such a nerd with a soft heart. He is scared of the vacuum cleaner, I think that says it all. He is good with children, no matter what size they are. He likes to say hello and sniff a bit and after that he goes his own way.

In Closing: Thank you again for taking the time to read our profile. We hope we have been able to give you an insight of our life, the warm surroundings we live in and the love we have for each other. We will promise you that your child will grow up knowing how loved and wanted he or she is and always will be. We offer a stable environment filled with laughter, love and most of all a safe harbour which our future child can call home and be free to express themselves. When our son passed away we had no choice but to let him go. The fact that you can make such a courageous decision with your child’s welfare in mind is something we have deep respect for, we will never forget you and how brave you are. We will fill our Dutch home with a little bit of America and the traditions you have so our child will always feel the bond we share with you and the country they were born in.