April 20th, 2018
Confidential 24 Hours
800.637.7999

Choose a Family

CONTACT US

Tatjana and Mark

WE ARE TATJANA & MARK FROM LOS ANGELES!

Thank you for taking the time to get to know us.We look forward to getting to know you as well!

We feel tremendous admiration and gratitude for your willingness to explore this experience with us. We hope this letter helps provide assurance and makes you feel comfortable in choosing us as the family to provide a stable, loving, adventurous, nurturing, and opportunity-filled home for a child.

OUR STORY

WE MET IN 1995 WHEN TATJANA CAME TO THE USA TO STUDY ENGLISH

We have been together for 22 years and have been married for 21 of those years (we got married very young). Mark is a native of Venice Beach, CA (where we still live today). Tatjana was born and raised in Switzerland, near the city of Zurich. “I later became a chocolate-cheese-bread eating Swiss banker in Switzerland. I knew basic “banker English”, but I wanted to become more fluent, so at the age of 20 I chose to travel to Los Angeles to attend a language school. Coincidentally, Mark’s mother was renting a house to foreign students who were attending the same school and Mark got to know them. One day they invited Mark along to a dinner attended by many of my co-students. It was outside that Italian restaurant, near the Santa Monica Pier where we gazed into each other’s eyes for the very first time. There was an immediate spark and we have been together ever since”.

 

OUR HOME

We live in sunny Venice Beach, California. We recently sold a house in the same neighborhood that we built from the ground up and moved back into the house Mark spent his childhood in. It has 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is both a big front and back yard great for playing with children.

Our neighborhood is quiet, safe, and friendly and there are various families with kids of different ages and ethnicities. It will be great to introduce the child we adopt to them and organize playdates and birthday parties with other kids in our neighborhood. We live just a short bike ride to the Venice Boardwalk and have many parks with playgrounds in between and around us. The next city over is Marina del Rey, home of Fisherman’s Village and the world’s largest man-made small boat harbor. It’s a fun place to do so many things as a family!

We also share our home with Teddy and Nimo, two cute little cats we adopted as babies from the animal shelter last year. We can’t wait for them to meet our new family member.

WHY WE ARE ADOPTING
STARTING A FAMILY

During our 20’s and 30’s we put a lot of focus on establishing our careers and creating a financially secure future. In our late 30’s, we were ready to start a family. We first attempted to conceive biologically; however, that did not work. After many visits with fertility doctors, unsuccessful surgeries and fertility treatments, we have enthusiastically chosen adoption to build our family. We are both overwhelmed with excitement to start this journey of parenthood and experience the joys of being a family.

 

OUR PLANS

We both are very lucky to work for companies that are family-oriented and have flexible employment. Tatjana is planning on taking off from work for several months after the adoption and then work from home. Mark is planning to work remote from home, at least for the first couple months so that we both can spend as much time as possible bonding. Our relatives are all very excited about the addition to our family, especially Debbie, Mark’s sister, and aunt Lynne and Cheryl.  Everyone is excited to meet the little one and have offered to help out and baby sit whenever we need some support.

Tatjana wants to join a local “mommy and me” support group. The classes provide moms with the understanding of how their babies mature emotionally, cognitively, socially and physically. Based strongly on a mindful parenting philosophy, mothers are taught how to be present and attuned to a baby’s inner world. The classes include songs, exercises, music and movement, as well as education, support, and effective parenting techniques. It’s a great way for babies to receive their first social experience.

We both enjoy eating good food and it’s important to us to raise our future child with healthy foods. We look forward to going to the local farmer’s market as a family, selecting yummy foods from local farmers, and cooking delicious meals with friends and their children.

 

EDUCATION

As for education, we believe in good education, and are planning to set up a college fund right away. However, times are changing and we are open to explore the child’s passion and interests, providing a guiding hand for her or him to realize her / his own dreams.

ABOUT TATJANA

BORN AND RAISED IN SWITZERLAND
I grew up as an only child with a single mother as my parents divorced when I was very young. I didn’t know my father until I turned 20 years old. I was, however, very fortunate to finally reconnect with him because only a few months later he passed away of natural causes.

I do have a large family filled with many aunts, uncles and cousins. Most live in Austria and Switzerland, but some also live in Spain and Croatia. My mother’s parents owned a beautiful 500 year old farm that was built at the entrance of a forest along a beautiful stream. I spent a large portion of my summer vacations making great memories there. Everyone is very excited for us to travel to Europe and to meet our newest addition to our family.

Professionally, I am the co-founder of an Internet company to help women amplify their social impact and lead the change they’d like to see in their own communities. As a strong advocate for women’s empowerment, development and leadership, I am heavily involved in the community, and have launched and lead many groups, events, workshops and conferences to support women to create a life and career of meaning  and purpose.

I grew up with Catholic/Protestant  traditions. Neither one of us is religious, but we both enjoy the “Holiday Spirit” of gathering with family, and eating good food together. We are planning to introduce the child to both, celebrating Hanukkah and Christmas – who doesn’t like to decorate a Christmas tree :-)? We are, however, very open to let the child make her/his own decision about these traditions.

MARK ABOUT TATJANA
“Tatjana will be a great mother because she is full of love, kind and warm-hearted. She balances personal life and career masterfully, is calm in difficult or challenging situations, extremely creative, inspirational, and has a great sense of humor. She is a terrific partner as she is determined, focused, and trustworthy. If anyone saw how she is with either a baby in her arms or one of our two young cats on her lap, they would instantly witness that Tatjana has so much love, care and tenderness to share.”

ABOUT MARK

BORN AND RAISED IN VENICE, CALIFORNIA
I grew up with my younger sister and my parents in Venice Beach, CA. My parents doted over us. They equally shared in the parenting responsibilities and the four of us often spent quality time with other family members and their children, including many vacations and trips to beaches, parks, and amusement parks. We had many different pets, including dogs, cats, rodents, and birds. I was raised Jewish and enjoyed the high holidays and events, which included going to temple, festivals, and spending time with the family.

Professionally, I started out in basic computer system management for web design and architecture. I spent the next 23 years on some of the most groundbreaking internet events and technologies at the time. I now work for a celebrity news outlet.

I have a large family presence from my mother’s side who live in Santa Clarita (near the other amusement park, Magic Mountain). My cousin Jamie recently had her second baby. We can’t wait to organize fun family events with her 2 year old daughter and her newborn boy. Everyone is very eagerly awaiting to dote over our new family member, hopefully soon!

I’m very close to my sister who has two beautiful daughters. They live near Disneyland and we can’t wait to go there together with their future cousin. My sister loves children; she owns a children’s party business, and also teaches at a local daycare.

I was raised Jewish I’m not religious, but I enjoyed the high holidays and events, which included going to temple, festivals, and spending time with the family.

TATJANA ABOUT MARK

“Mark will be a great father as he is very family-oriented. He always wanted to have children. He is kind and protective of his loved ones, and enjoys organizing and attending family and relative get-togethers. He is physically strong, very sporty and active. He also loves building things, whether it be a gated outdoor section for our cats, a wood bench, a patio deck, a garden, or install a floor, he can do it all. Mark is very much looking forward to being active and doing things with a child, to play, teach and build things, to explore the outdoors and discover the world together. He has a great sense of humor, and loves kidding around.”

 

FUN TOGETHER

WHAT WE ENJOY DOING TOGETHER

We both like going to movies, sporting events, concerts, eating out at great restaurants, and visiting the many artistic and educational centers and facilities around the city. One of our biggest passions is traveling – visiting and experiencing all the various cultures and traditions around the world.  Since Tatjana has a large family and group of friends in Europe we try to visit once a year.  We look forward to traveling and sharing these experiences with a child.

THANK YOU

Our promise to you is to provide a stable, loving, adventurous, nurturing, and opportunity-filled home for a child.

We know how important family is and we both will take active parenting roles to ensure our child feels safe and secure in a comforting and loving home. We understand how important this decision of adoption is to you and your baby as well. We believe that “open” adoption is a healthy choice for everyone – you, us and the baby. We look forward to building and securing an honest, loving and supportive relationship amongst all of us.

Again, thank you for taking the time to get to know us. We hope you were able to imagine where our lives are, where they are going and how the child we adopt will be nurtured. We look very much forward to meeting with you in person!

If you would like to speak with us about adopting your child or have any questions for us, please contact your case worker at AdoptHelp by calling 1-800-637-7999.

Warm regards,

 

Tatjana & Mark