June 18th, 2018
Confidential 24 Hours
800.637.7999

Choose a Family

CONTACT US

Valerie and Brian

Hi! We’re Valerie & Brian from Southern California

Dear Birth mother: Thanks for reading our profile and considering us! We can only imagine what you are going through right now, and we think it’s amazing that you are considering adoption. Adoption is something that is very near and dear to both of our hearts. We hope we get the chance to make this time as easy and stress-free as possible. We’re excited to share our story with you. Brian was adopted at ten weeks old, so he has incredible first-hand experience to share. He understands adoption from the perspective of the child, and would be an amazing guide. Half of Valerie’s little cousins are adopted, so adoption has long been a part of her family’s history as well. Adopting is something we always wanted to do, whether we could have a child ourselves or not. We promise to provide every opportunity in the world to a child, to be the best possible mentors we can be, and to love this child unconditionally. We have long discussed the idea of adopting a child, and we feel now is the perfect time in our lives to do so.

Our Story: We met over a decade ago when a mutual friend brought Valerie to Brian’s birthday party. We both grew up in the same part of town, had similar backgrounds, and even knew many of the same people, but had somehow never crossed paths. We had no idea what the universe had in store for us. We began dating shortly before Brian was deployed to Iraq. Dating while 7,638 miles apart while one person is in a war zone can be complicated. A few years later, after Brian finished his career with the Marines, we were reunited and have been together ever since. Brian proposed while on a camping trip —the last place Valerie expected this might happen. He waited till sunset on top of a mountain, which was very romantic and a real surprise.

We do everything together and consider each other our best friend. Our parents live close by, in the same community we grew up in. We love to travel and plan to take one big trip every year. We love our city of Los Angeles and try to take advantage of everything it has to offer. We love going to the movies, theatre, museums and sporting events. It is amazing to be able to go from the beach to the mountains in the same day. We also love the diversity and multiculturalism that is commonplace in Los Angeles. And you can’t beat that famous Southern California weather!

Meet Brian

About Brian: At ten weeks old, I was lucky enough to be adopted by the most loving and supportive parents anyone could ask for. I never got the chance to meet my birthparents, which is why I’m grateful to be part of an open adoption. I was raised in the suburbs of Los Angeles, in the same area as Valerie. Whether it was writing, the swim team, or acting in the high school musical, I was encouraged to pursue my interests. The Boy Scouts were a big part of my life growing up, and the day I became an Eagle Scout is one of my best memories as a young man. Once I was done with high school I went to college for journalism, but fate had other plans. After 9/11 I left school to enlist in the Marine Corps and soon after that, serve overseas in Iraq. I went on to a career in accounting and eventually started my own business. A couple of years ago, I took over my family’s business (we rent houses and apartments.) I’m lucky enough to run things with my business partner, who happens to be my wife. Running our own company gives us a chance to live life on our terms. My life has become something of a dream. Adopting a child with my wife would mean the world to me, and fulfill a lifelong desire.

By Valerie: Brian is an incredibly compassionate person, who always puts family first. He will drop what he is doing if someone in his family needs help. Brian is always curious and wants to learn about every subject he can. I admire how he can talk to just about anyone and find something in common with them. He also has a great sense of humor and always finds a way to make me laugh—especially if I am taking something too seriously. Brian finds the joy in life and lives it to the fullest. He sees the big picture and is great at putting plans in motion to make goals happen. I know Brian will be a wonderful father, who will encourage exploration and make life more fun and adventurous for his child.

Meet Valerie

About Valerie: I grew up in Northridge, California with parents who provided every opportunity I could possibly imagine. They took me to the theatre, football & basketball games, museums, and my Dad raised me on classic movies. At the age of 14, I told my parents that I wanted to move across the country to study ballet at a residential high school, and they were nothing but supportive. After graduating high school, I danced professionally with the Milwaukee Ballet Company and I have my parents to thank for helping me make that dream a reality. I promise to provide the same support and encouragement for our future child’s dreams. Education was always emphasized in my family and I have gone on to earn a Bachelors and Masters degree. I have worked as a costume designer for film, TV and theatre, and even for a toy company. Since marrying Brian, I have joined the family business in property management. I especially love getting to design the homes and apartments we renovate. We get to run our own business from our home office, which will be perfect when we have a family. We pride ourselves on balancing work and family time, and we have the flexibility to be there anytime our child needs us. We are truly lucky, and we feel ready to start this new stage of our lives together.

By Brian: I met Valerie at a party. I remember coming up to her and telling her a joke that made her laugh. I thought to myself “this girl thinks I’m funny… awesome!” I knew from that moment on that I wanted to spend a lifetime with her full of laughter and love. My wife is one of the most passionate people I (and possibly the world) has ever known. She cares deeply for our family, and the world at large. Whether it’s conquering the ballet world or getting a Masters degree while working full time, Val is always a success at what she does. I know that all her qualities make her a natural parent. When I see her with one of her little cousins or a friend’s baby, it’s obvious Valerie is made to be a mom.

Our Family, Friends and Pets

We are fortunate that our parents live quite close to us, just about half an hour away. Valerie’s parents will celebrate their 45th wedding anniversary this year, and Brian’s parents were married 40 years before his father passed away. Both of Valerie’s parents are retired, as is Brian’s mom, and they can’t wait to have (and spoil) grandchildren. We both have extended family in the area and there are even some little cousins close by that would love to have a new playmate. We also have some amazing friends who can’t wait to be honorary Aunts and Uncles. We are very close with our parents and we love spending the holidays with our family. While we were both raised in the Jewish faith, we have family members who celebrate Christmas, Hanukkah, or both. We tend to alternate who hosts Thanksgiving dinners, and we love to make potato pancakes for Hanukkah. On Christmas, Valerie’s parents cook a nice meal and then we head out to the movies. A big annual tradition is when Valerie’s parents host a “Just Desserts” party, which is just that… lots and lots of crazy desserts!

Meet Foxie and Cash: Valerie found Foxie with the help of an amazing rescue group, who saved Foxie from a shelter while she was pregnant with four puppies. Her puppies all found good homes and Foxie has been with Valerie for the last eight years. Foxie is very good around children and she would protect a baby as though her life depended on it. Cash was sort of rescued, too. Cash moved in with Brian’s former roommate, and he loved it so much he stayed even after that roommate left! Cash is your typical goofy Labrador Retriever who loves people and just wants to be near you. He loves kids, though he may lick them a lot.

Our Home and Closing Thoughts

Home Sweet Home: We live in a four-bedroom home with a big grassy backyard in the middle of the San Fernando Valley, a suburb of Los Angeles. We have renovated our entire home from top to bottom, and made it a place that can easily accommodate a family, as well as our in-home office. Our neighborhood is a very family-oriented community, with lots of children playing outside. We keep hearing how people want to move to our neighborhood because of how great the schools are. We walk our dogs around the neighborhood every day and we feel it will be a great place to raise a family.

5 Promises We Make:

  • To give our utmost respect and gratitude to you, the birthmother.
  • To offer our future child every opportunity he or she can imagine.
  • To explore exciting new places as a family.
  • To have a family that laughs through good times and bad.
  • To love our future child unconditionally.

Our Final Thoughts: Thank you for letting us share our lives with you. If you want to know anything else about us, we’re happy to share. We can’t wait to get to know you during this process. We are beyond grateful to you for considering us to be alongside you for this journey.